Anyone want to educate me?

SERE Bear

Drinking da Bears better
Donator
Liked Posts:
I’m new to Hockey (started watching last year’s playoffs ) and after watching last night I was wondering about the game winning goal. When Kane was skating toward the net to set up his shot the defender chose to skate backwards toward the goalie effectively blocking the goalies view of Kane. I understand that the defenseman was trying to keep himself between Kane and the goal but why wouldn’t he charge Kane instead? It seems to me by not physically engaging Kane he gives him more options on what to do with the puck. Would it be a penalty ?

Thanks for helping the uniformed to understand.

Gravis

Bears/Bulls/Hawks by 400
Liked Posts:
I have little hockey experience, but from the reply it looked like the defender was worried about a pass from Kane to Smith who was in a possible position to score. If you watch my sig, you'll see Kane look at Smith as they close the gap and Kane delay the shot a little. Other than that, I have no clue. Just an awesome play by Kane.

Ares

CCS Hall of Fame
Donator
CCS Hall of Fame '19
Liked Posts:
The defender was in a 2 on 1 situation and originally gave Kane alot of space because he was trying to keep Kane from having an open one timer pass to Smith.... I think normally the Goalie and Defender would prefer a shooter coming in and taking a shot the Goalie can be ready for rather than a one timer which many times is so fast it leaves the net wide open for an easy goal.

That being said, you can tell by the time help gets back where the defender for the Blues realizes he can go after Kane.... Kaner is just about to shoot.